A Public Support of Bombshell Rae

From the moment “Momshell” was diagnosed with stage four pancreatic cancer, Rachel jumped in as the primary caretaker. She became her advocate, fought for quality care, researched alternative treatments and just loved her mother every minute of the day.  Recently Rachel and her mom lost their battle.  I found out today, while listening to  The Real Christopher Titus Podcast, that Trolls have been bashing her for inferring that she has been experiencing grief due to her loss. 

I was working on a private letter to her, but now feel that it should be public. Taking care of someone with cancer takes a toll on the entire family. NO ONE should be judged for how they handle cancer. Support of caretakers should not be an afterthought. 

*******

Dear Rachel,

I am truly sorry for your immense loss. The pain I hear in your voice rips at my heart. I’ve really struggled with writing you this letter. Partly, because facing your pain forces me to acknowledge possibilities that are terrifying … and partly, because I realize that listening to you both each week allows for a false sense of intimacy and friendship. With that in mind, please take the following for what it’s worth.

I know how hard it is to be a caretaker. The pain of watching a loved one is unbearable at times. Seeing Titus in Charlotte was the first and only time I’ve been away from my daughter since she was diagnosed on June 7, 2016. (Please thank him for me. The laughter was a much-needed relief.)

I understand that I don’t really know you or your mother, but I feel compelled to tell you what I hope you already know.

Your mother was so proud of the woman you have become. You were a strong enough woman to be her strength when she had none. She had the opportunity to see and know your heart better than any mother could ever have hoped. She was able to see her daughter be the person she had hoped to raise.

We will continue to pray for you and your family.

Sincerely,

Chris Brink

(Alex Farrell’s Mom)

Team Alex

About Chris Brink

I am an aspiring story teller and performer. I have a passion for inspirational stories. I have always told stories written by other people. This blog is my foray into writing my own stories.
This entry was posted in Cancer, Christopher Titus, Love Others, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Public Support of Bombshell Rae

  1. Jim says:

    Beautiful. Momshell touch many of us in so many ways. Her radiance pre diagnosis. Her strength and fight post. This, combined with Rachel and Christopher’s unyielding support sustained me during a particularly difficult period. Thank You for sharing how so many of us feel so eloquently.

    Jim

    Like

  2. Sharon Leard says:

    To add to that, anyone who trolls you is disgusting. I lost my mom at 11, 39 years ago. I missed out on so much, I still mourn her loss. No one has the right to say when you should stop mourning. It’s been 39 years for me. Screw those idiots. Love your podcast, if you guys ever make it to Bakersfield, I’ll get my ticket, love all you guys!!

    Like

  3. Kevin Robinson says:

    I too wrote her a letter. If there’s ever anything I can ever do to help out in any way at all, please let me know.

    Like

  4. Amy says:

    Aww, so sweet. Nice letter Chris.

    Like

  5. Pink Squashie says:

    Agent Pink Squashie not only appreciates this, but would be overjoyed to meet the trolls. I deal with my grief a bit differently. (I’m no comedian, my pursuits are more…basic).

    Also, Chris, I have watched a child suffer terribly. If you are a long time podcast listener, you know about it. I can only say that: there is a plan. I didn’t see it for years, but it was there. Let the fire of it cure your steel. The battle doesn’t end, and Alex will need you. Faith, brother.

    Like

Leave a comment